Keeping up the raw spirit

I am filled with hope as I reach out to the things that matter the most for me. Ever since I was a child I have felt a bit of an outcast, in terms of how I see and experience the world around me. I have a very strong moral compass, which guides me through every day. There are times I have been wrong- But part of me knows, that my defiant and rebellious spirit is what is going to create change in this world. Over the years, too many people have tried to stand in the way. The world around us is constantly telling us what to do, how to act, what to think, what is acceptable etc. But the older I get, the more I realize it is less about what other people say, and more about what is important to me. It’s a hard space to dwell in, but I think that many of us could benefit from this mentality. Mistakes are meant to be made, but these mistakes do not define a person’s worth.

The more we open ourselves to growth, the more vulnerable we are to make mistakes, and the more willing we are to learn from them is vital. It means that we will exist in a steady stream of growth, both internally and externally. To open your mind to this growth is not easy. It means that you will be caught in the crossfires of others from time to time. But every voice, revolutionary and seeker of change has had to stand in the fire. Even just small changes within ourselves take great courage. And that courage is absolutely worth the wisdom we gain. This is how I chose to live my life, and I wish the same for all. It’s not easy, but I think most things that are worth it- Aren’t so easy most of the time. The struggle continues, but with a smile and a whole lot of heart

And I guess my sights are bigger than what most people see as “realistic” some of the time, and perhaps they are- But I have to remind myself- that every great thing in this world started with an idea. A thought, and then a plan. No matter how outlandish the idea, it became a reality on so many occassions throughout the history of peoplekind. The impossible became the possible, and then it just was. The only limitations we truly have, are the ones we allow ourselves- or allow others to put in our path. It is a struggle indeed, to push past these barriers set by ourselves and society. But that first step might very well just be awareness, awareness and to build an inner strength that dosen’t let us take no for an answer. Fuck it. You only live once. Do it up.

Leave a comment